Member of the Year

    • Current Member of the Year

      Paul Ruzicka 2015

      Paul Ruzicka of Xylem Inc. - Applied Water Systems

      Paul has been an active volunteer with the Institute for more than 8 years. He consistently volunteers, leads standards development committees, DOE regulation committees, education committees, he participates in reviewing standards and guidelines, and serves in leadership capacities. He is an enthusiastic mentor to younger engineers, and always welcomes their input within his committees. Paul distinguishes himself for the level and extent of his involvement thus advancing the technical work of the Hydraulic Institute on many levels and he has provided passion to the discussion of measurement uncertainty.

      He has held leadership positions on more than 10 technical and education committees over the past two years and in 2015 went above and beyond to support the industry as HI’s technical representative at DOE’s public hearing regarding the proposed energy conservation standard for pumps. Paul currently holds leadership positions in the following committees:

      • Chair of (ANSI/HI 11.6) Rotodynamic Submersible Pump Test
      • Co-Chair of (HI 40.6 DOE) Methods for Rotodynamic Pump Efficiency Testing
      • Co-Chair of (ANSI/HI 14.4) - Rotodynamic Pump IOM
      • Co-Chair of DOE Final Rule Review Committee
      • Co-Chair of DOE Regulation Education Committee
      • Vice-Chair of (ANSI/HI 14.3) - Rotodynamic Pump Design & Application

      In addition to his work at HI, Paul is presently serving as Chief Mechanical Engineer with Xylem Inc. - Applied Water Systems.

      Member of the Year Award

      Typically given on an annual basis, the HI Board of Directors confers the “Member of the Year” designation upon a deserving individual based on established criteria.

      The designation is not always awarded on an annual basis, only when a deserving individual is identified.  The Nominating Committee seeks recommendations for this award and, based on merit, recommends an individual to the HI Board of Directors.


      As originally conceived the award was established to recognize the efforts and significant contributions of member company engineers who contribute to the advancement of the work of the Hydraulic Institute.  The award, however, is not intended to be limited to engineers as CEOs and marketing executives have been recipients in the past for their contributions & leadership in advancing the work of the Hydraulic Institute.  Annually the Nominating Committee will seek input and suggestions from the members and staff for individuals that meet the following criteria:

      • A nominee should have made a sustained effort, over time, contributing  to the mission and goals of the Hydraulic Institute
      • A nominee should have made a significant accomplishment, either with the creation of a new standard, technical guideline, educational initiative, program or activity of the Institute that has made a major contribution to the industry, the Institute and/or one that has far reaching implications.
      • A nominee should have made a significant accomplishment, as a direct result of the individuals vision, leadership and technical or managerial contributions that furthers the mission and goals of HI
      • Examples of such accomplishments might include: leading a committee in creating or updating a standard, with ground-breaking implications; demonstrating exceptional leadership in a particular committee, Section or program; advancing new concepts or programs important to the industry or providing sustained voluntary efforts in one or more areas over a substantial period of time.

      It is recommended, but not required, that the Nominating Committee seek wide-spread input from staff and the membership, inviting nominations in particular from all HI members who wish to nominate an individual from their own or another company.


      The HI Board of Directors, at its February meeting annually – or by letter ballot prior to the meeting, selects the “Member of the Year” recipient who is presented with a glass award at the Annual meeting.  A press release is issued by the Institute, and is often coordinated with the members’ corporate PR department to achieve the greatest publicity for the award.

      Call for Nominees

      An announcement of a call for nominees should be made at least once per year, no later than November, to provide opportunities for CEOs to nominate those on their staff they feel are deserving of such recognition.

      Past Member of the Year Recipients
       2014    Aleksander Roudnev
         Weir Minerals, North America
       2013    Randy Bennett
         Leistritz Advanced Technologies Corp.
       2012    Arnold Sdano
         Pentair Flow Technologies - Nijhuis
       2011    Al Iseppon
         Pentair Water
       2010    Trygve Dahl
         Intelliquip, Inc.
       2009    Thomas Angle
         Weir Specialty Pumps
       2008    Randal Ferman
         Flowserve Pump Division
       2007    Michael Cropper
         Sulzer Pumps
       2006    Ralph Gabriel
         John Crane Inc.
       2005    Stefan Abelin
         ITT Flygt
       2004    Graeme Addie
         GIW Industries, Inc.
       2003    Robert Stanbury
         Flowserve Corporation
       2002    David McKinstry
         IMO Pump Group
       2001    Gunnar Hovstadius
         ITT Fluid Technology